Why I’m Spending Valentine’s Day Blissfully Alone

I’m eighteen years old and exceptionally average in basically every sense. I’m no where close to being a supermodel, a brain surgeon, a saint, or a crazy party girl. I work, read, write, and spend way too much time on the internet. Basically I’m as typical and boring as an eighteen year old introvert can be. So why do so many creepy boys and jerks keep finding me?

I’ve never felt the need to have a boyfriend and honestly? I’m not even sure what I would do with one since the idea of physical contact literally makes me nauseous and most boys want to at the very least kiss their girlfriends. Despite this though I’ve had a couple of opportunities to see what this whole dating thing is all about and I had too admit… it’s awful.

My experiences with dating can be summed up pretty quickly as such:

  1. Mets boy.
  2. Boy seems nice but is actually psychotic or scum.
  3. Tries to get away from said boy.
  4. Boy keeps popping up even years later in some cases.

I’m not currently in a relationship and I don’t plan on being in one. I’m tired of manipulative, creepy, immature little boys my age and I’ve decided that they belong on the backburner for now. I have more important things to do right now, like getting in school and get my career started.

I’ve never really understood the need to have a boyfriend some girls have. Why would I NEED a boy to tell me I’m pretty or special? I don’t care what I look like but I know I’m not a model nor troll-like, I know I’m exceptionally average at most things but I also know where I shine and I don’t need some boy to tell me that.

I know around Valentine’s Day the idea of being alone really puts a damper on some people’s moods but for me, that’s just not the case. As pathetic as it may sound to some, my Valentine every year is my mom, which works out great for me since there’s no a person in the universe who loves me more or who I love more. This year, like always, I’m spending Valentine’s Day blissfully single and celebrating the platonic love I have for my family, best friend, and of course my darling little lionhead Sir Runt Excalibur Penning.

Happy early Valentine’s Day to everyone out there, single or not. I hope you have a great time with your partner or enjoy some time with family, friends, beloved pets, or even just treating yourself (which I’ll defiantly be doing with those after Valentines day candy sales).

I know it’s a bit early for a Valentine’s Day post but I have something else planned for Valentine’s Day and I don’t want to post this at the same time as the other one, so…

Happy early Valentine’s Day!

-A

 

20170211_143408
Runt here in his bow tie to wish you a great Valentine’s Day   (2/11/17)

 

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

