Little Lights in the Dark

“Sometimes life is like this dark tunnel. You can’t always see the light at the end of the tunnel, but if you just keep moving… ” -Iroh

 

It’s easy to forget sometimes, when you’re surrounded by dark ominous clouds, that eventually they will blow away. I haven’t posted in a while, almost a month as I’ve been busy handling the darkness around my family right now. Worrying about money, health, and the future. It’s been far too easy to abandon the search for the little bits of light, but I have found them.

I’ve always believed that your life has certain fixed points, where things are meant to go one way whether you want it or not, but that the path we take to those fixed points is up to us. I believe that from the time we are born the clock begins to count down to our death that’s meant to come at a certain time, we’re destined to meet certain people, and do certain things but how we go about it is up to us.

Part of life that is able to be shaped by us depends on our outlook. When times get dark you can sit down, cry and wait for it to pass in despair or, you can push on and keep your eyes out for where the light is able to shine through. You can choose to wallow in pity and sadness or seek out the little lights in life that shine in the darkness like stars.

Moments where you laugh so hard you cry, moments where you look at someone and are so overwhelmed with love that you smile like an idiot involuntarily. These are the little moments you miss when you give up and forget to look for the light.

I forgot, momentarily, about the little lights in the dark. I stopped seeking them out, before remembering why exactly I needed to find them; hope is a powerful thing and can be very contagious. If you abandon it, what’s the point?

So I started looking for them again, and I found them. I found the little lights, stars in the darkness around me and ran to them. These dark clouds are still with me, they’re everywhere but slowly I’m finding more lights appearing. I even captured a few to keep in my pocket, to remember when I begin to give up.

I have a new job opportunity, in addition to my current job. I’ve almost finished my novel. I’m going back to school. I have a family I love more than anything in the world. Most importantly I know I’ll never be alone.

Even though the pressure is still on, I have my eyes open, looking for any signs of light in this dark storm. They will lead me out, so long as I just keep going forward and keep searching the darkness for stars.

“You must never give in to despair. Allow yourself to slip down that road, and surrender to your lowest instincts. In the darkest times, hope is something you give yourself. That is the meaning of inner strength.”  -Iroh

 

-A

Leave a Reply

